Our Management Team is made up of seasoned insurance professionals led by our Chairman and Chief Executive Officer James F. Carland, M.D. Our Board of Trustees is composed of physicians as well as experts in healthcare and finance. Their guidance is critical to MICA’s success.

Read more about our leadership below:

2017 Board of Trustees

  • James F. Carland, III, M.D. Chairman
  • Marc L. Leib, M.D. Vice Chairman
  • Joseph W. Hanss, Jr., M.D. Secretary
  • Douglas P. Jensen, M.D. Treasurer
  • Phyllis I. Biedess
  • James G. Leiferman, M.D.
  • Steven P. Matteucci, J.D.
  • Jeffrey W. Morgan, D.O.
  • Karen J. Nichols, D.O.
  • David A. Pedersen, M.D.
  • J. Greg Rula, M.D.
  • Amy A. Silverthorn, M.D.
  • Walter K. Sosey, M.D.
  • Charles W. Swetnam, M.D.
  • Michael A. Trainor, D.O.

Executive Staff

  • James F. Carland, III, M.D., President & Chief Executive Officer
  • Ronald E. Malpiedi, Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
  • Edward G. Marley, MBA, Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
  • Darren J. Palmer, Vice President & Chief Information Officer
  • Robin L. Charles, MBA, CIC, Vice President, Marketing & Corporate Communication
  • Mary K. Hedin, MBA, RPLU, Vice President, Underwriting
  • Leon W. Kochan, M.C.Ed, Vice President, Human Resources
  • Julie A. Ritzman, MBA, Vice President, Risk Management Services
  • Philip J. Smith, Vice President, Claims